Destiny – beloved little sister

Hey, little sister

You will grow up to have many wonders — about your existence, your purpose, your future. You will grow up questioning the world with hows and whys. You will grow up not knowing how your life is going to turn out — good or bad. You will grow up to doubt your judgment and to distrust your instincts.

Sounds frightening, right?                                DSCN0318.jpg

Don’t fret. I believe that fate has have your life mapped out and hidden, and with every step you take, you will learn something new about yourself or just learn something new.

I, too, underwent everything you will be going through. I didn’t know what college I wanted to go to. I didn’t know what I wanted to do. I didn’t know who I wanted to be. I was even unsure of what to wear for the day, for that matter. It took me awhile, but I made it. I found out I want to go to either UCSB or Cal Poly SLO. I realized I really enjoy math and would like to become an engineer. Well, I guess I still don’t have everything figured out yet, because I still don’t know what I should wear to school tomorrow.

Anyways, at this point, I was feeling joyous and relieved, because for once in my life, I didn’t question why I wanted to go to the colleges I chose or why I wanted to be an engineer; I just know.

Well, I told our mom about my new discoveries and to my unfortunate surprise, Mom expressed a sort of disappointment in her eyes. Mom told me she doesn’t think becoming an engineer was such a good idea. Mom said she would like for me to be a pediatrician. “Don’t do it for yourself, do it for me. Please.” she said. I wasn’t certain how I felt at what Mom has said.

I felt neglected and selfish. Why neglected? It is my life that we are discussing and all Mom could think about was how she would feel if I were to become a pediatrician. And selfish? Well, it’s my life, I want to do what makes me happy. My head was churning with different thoughts and doubts to not trust my instincts, but fate will have its way with me and I will end up where I’m destined to be.

So, yes, don’t fret, Destiny. YOU WILL BE FINE.

P.S. would you stop being a little baby?

Love,

An

Leave a comment